a FINAL farewell

Goodbyes are hard. Let me just say that. I’m sitting at my computer racking my brain on a way to start this post and nothing seems fitting. This guild and its people mean so much to me. I’ve been in a leadership roll in one aspect or another for over six and half years. Salt has been around since launch and I was blessed to start my officership as a dungeon and fractal leader not but a few months later (is that a fun fact for those who weren’t around then?). In October of 2014, I took a step of faith and joined Caiti, and later Matt, as we jumped into the roll of Guild Leader. My, was that a blessed time for us! We had so much fun leading events, planning fellowship times, and being there for our members and officers in both fun and hard times. In January of 2019 the three of us officially retired from Guild Leaders and I took a more background leadership roll as I continued to serve the community via the website, social media outlets and, IMHO, just being present in game for those who needed help or advice. Well, as of today, this 6.5 year journey is finally coming to an end. I am hereby stepping down from all leadership rolls within Salt.

This is sad for me. You and this guild have been a part of my life for so long and I have such deep love for you. But this is also a very happy time for me. I am CHOOSING this route because of the many joys God has blessed me with. My precious little boy is 2.5 and getting to be such a big and busy boy. My days are kept stock full of crafts, singing “Baby Shark”, toddler giggles and hugs. The bigger he gets, the busier and more tired I become, which makes maintaining a leadership roll very challenging for me. To top that all off I am SO VERY happy to announce that I am also currently expecting my second child! Baby 2 is set to arrive late October and my family is thrilled to soon become a family of 4! Seeing my little time and energy NOW with only one, I know that I will not be able to continue in leadership the closer I get and after I deliver this second blessing. With these things in mind God has been laying on my heart that it is time. Time to let go, time to trust Him FULLY with the guild that I love so much.

When I stepped down from Guild Leader last year I admit that it was very hard for me. Trusting this guild in someone else’s hands took a lot of guts for me. I tend to be one who likes to be in control and you mean so much to me that I was scared to let that go. But this last year has been remarkable. I’ve seen Tim and Bryce step up to be AMAZING Guild Leaders and I’m almost brought to tears of pride for the men that God brought into that roll. I’ve seen such growth in fellowship and community that I haven’t seen in Salt in years and I know that’s because God has been with us and working in our two humble leaders. I could not be more at peace with stepping down for good knowing these two men of God are at the helm.

I want you to know that while my days and life will be getting busier and busier and there may be times you don’t see me for a while, I have no plans of leaving the guild or quitting the game. I will still play when my schedule and kid(s) allow. So you won’t be completely rid of me.

One of my continued duties in Salt was the maintenance and payment of this website. I’ll be honest, the yearly payments to keep this site up and running were not insignificant. I say this not out of pride, but out of transparency. Just because I was able to maintain these payments doesn’t mean others can, or even should. That being said, the web hosting has been paid for through April 2022, and it’s my understanding that the leadership will do it’s best to keep it up and running until then. But, you should know that efforts are also being made to seek a low or no-cost way to transition the website. This could come in many changes to what you know the website to be now; including, but not limited to, a new look and/or domain name. But please know, that even if these things DO change, the heart and soul of this site, its people and its mission will NOT change. Those are all grounded in Christ and that will always remain. I also want you to know that I completely agree with and support the leadership in this goal and vision for the continuance of our site. I have complete faith in God and them with whatever they ultimately decide will be the fate of this site.

I will never forget the blessing it was being your leader and officer over these many years. I have so many close friends from this guild that surpass just in game friendships. I will continue to keep each and every one of you in my prayers and I will be around to play and continue to fellowship with you as much as I can.

Thank you all for such an amazing 6.5 years. This is the end of an era, but not the end of the wonderful blessings and friendships that we share.

Let me leave you, for the last time, with this blessing:
May the Lord bless you and keep you;
may He make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you,
may He turn his face toward you and give you peace.

“Thank you Lord God for this time I got to spend in leadership of this Guild.
I ask that your continued presence in this guild bring blessing and joy upon it’s members and leaders.
I ask that you be Lord and leader of this guild for all the days of it’s life.”
-Amen

God bless you all. Goodbye for now!

-Jess
(Vasshti)

“To Him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.” 1 Peter 4:11

Leave a comment